Census To Be Conducted In April 2023, Expected To Gulp Over N400BN

The national population census will be conducted in April 2023, Director General of Nigeria Population Commission (NPC), Nasir Isa-Kwarra has disclosed.


The exercise, expected to gulp over N400bn, will take place a month after the general elections, fixed for February and March by the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC).


The DG made the disclosure today (Thursday, April 14, 2022) while speaking to correspondents after the Council of State meeting Presided over by President Muhammad Buhari as well as former Heads of State Gen. Yakubu Gowon and Gen. Abdusalami Abubakar.


The commission, he stated, would deploy high-grade technology during the exercise, adding that the pilot census will hold in June after the primaries of political parties.


NPC DG, Nasir Isa-Kwarra 


Isa-Kwarra said the current data are obsolete projections, expressing optimism that the census will provide more accurate data for 
national planning.

“It is very crucial because I have highlighted that the census is a very important exercise for the nation. Because through census We generate the data that we use for policymaking, for planning, for development, by the three tiers of government, and the private sector, all need this.


“If you are a private sector, you’re producing something, certainly, you need to know the population of an area if you want to create amarket there.


“So census data is very crucial, very important. Because, the data we’ve been using are just projections, estimation and are sort of obsolete, we need the actual census data to use for our planning.”


The meeting is the fourth to be presided by Buhari after those of October 21, 2015, September 7, 2016 and a virtual one in August 2020.


Vice President, Prof. Yemi Osinbajo, Secretary to the Government of the Federation (SGF), Mr. Boss Mustapha, National Security Adviser (NSA), Major General Babagana Monguno (retd.) and Chief of Staff to the President, Prof. Ibrahim Gambari, were among those physically present at the meeting.


Governors Hope Uzodinma (Imo), Kayode Fayemi (Ekiti), Atiku Bagudu (Kebbi), Bello Matawalle (Zamfara), Nasir El Rufai (Kaduna) and Abubakar Badaru (Jigawa) were also present, while other governors attended virtually.


Members of the Council of State include the president, past presidents, the vice president, senate president, speaker of the House of Representatives, serving and past Chief Justice of the Federation.


Others are the Attorney General of the Federation, all state governors and the Minister of Federal Capital Territory (FCT).

Source: Grassroots Today

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.