Maiden Edition of Aisha Buhari Cup Tournament Begins On Wednesday 15

FIFA approved Aisha Buhari Cup, all female football tournament, to start Wednesday, September 15 at the revamped Mobolaji Johnson arena at the Onikan stadium, in Lagos.


Participating teams, which include: Nigeria (the host country), Ghana, Mali, Morocco, Cameroon, South Africa have started arriving the country ahead of the tournament.

Super Falcons of Nigeria has arrived the country, so also the Black Queens of Ghana, the Female Eagles of Mali, as well as the Atlas Lionesses of Morocco.


While Nigeria, Morocco and Mali are in Group A, Ghana, Cameroon and South Africa in Group B.

Wednesday opening ceremony match will be between the Super Falcons and the Female Eagles of Mali by 4pm. Ghana’s Black Queens is expected to tackle Cameroon and South Africa at a later date.


All 6 (six) matches will be in Lagos at the Mobolaji Johnson arena of the Onikan stadium.

Sports analysts opined that, the Aisha Buhari Cup tournament will be used by the world’s football body, FIFA, to rank the performances of all participating teams which comprises of strong female African football teams.


Guests to grace the events include: FIFA President, Gianni Infantino, and his entourage, the President of Confederation of African Football, (CAF), Patrice Motsepe and his chiefs, many other dignitaries and football enthusiasts across the country.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *