President Buhari Nominates New Ministers, Expects Senate Approval

President Muhammadu Buhari has nominated seven (7) persons to replace the ministers that resigned from his cabinet in the wake of the presidential primary election of the ruling All Progressives Congress (APC).


The nominees are Henry Ikechukwu Ikoh (Abia), Umana Okon Umana (Akwa Ibom), Egwumakama Joseph Nkama (Ebonyi), Goodluck Nnana Opiah (Imo), Umar Ibrahim El-Yakub (Kano), Ademola Adewole Adegoroye (Ondo) and Odum Odih (Rivers).


The names of the nominees have been sent to the Senate for screening and for confirmation.


Mr. President’s letter, read on the floor of the Senate, by the Senate President, Dr. Ahmad Lawan, in Abuja, read:

“…in accordance with Section 8 Subsection 2 of the Constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria as amended, I hereby forward the under-listed ministerial nominees (names mentioned above) for your confirmation.”


President Buhari added that, “he expect to receive the usual expeditious consideration and confirmation of the nominees by the upper legislative chamber.”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *